Rhodes Scholarship - Southern Africa


Rhodes Trust

The Rhodes Scholarships for Southern Africa (inc. South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland). The Scholarships for these countries are administered from a regional secretariat based in Johannesburg. There are: four Scholarships every year for applicants from South Africa-at-Large, one for applicants from KwaZulu-Natal, one for an applicant from one of: Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and Swaziland, and one each for applicants of or from Diocesan College, Rondebosch; South African College School, Newlands; Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch; and St Andrew's College, Makhanda (including their identified partner schools, which are listed here).
Bursary Fields

All Fields of Study
Who Can Apply

The selection criteria, as found in the Will of Cecil Rhodes, govern selection across all Rhodes constituencies. In some constituencies, they will need to have completed their degree in the year of application. Academic achievement must be sufficiently high to assure entry to the University of Oxford, whose admissions are internationally competitive, and to give confidence that Rhodes Scholars will perform to a high academic standard in Oxford.

Bursary Levels

Postgraduate , Undergraduate
Which Countries can Apply?

Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa
Opening Date

01 June 2017
Closing Date

01 August 2024
Contact Details

Rhodes House, South Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3RG, United Kingdom
Application Address


A PACE Career Centre Product. © All rights reserved | Developed by Netgen (Pty) Ltd. Disclaimer: Please see disclaimer