New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships


New Zealand Government

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are prestigious scholarships that recognise New Zealand’s history and ties to the Commonwealth. Our Commonwealth Scholarships are part of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) - an international programme under which Commonwealth countries offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth states. NZ Commonwealth Scholarships are funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme, the New Zealand Government’s overseas aid and development programme. They are managed by the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MFAT).
Bursary Fields

All Fields of Study
Who Can Apply

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are available for the following postgraduate qualifications: Master’s Degree (1 – 2 years) PhD (up to 3.5 years). The application process for a New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship is different to other New Zealand Scholarships. Applicants must submit their applications to their country's 'Nominating Agency' first. The Nominating Agency then 'nominates' two applicants from the submitted applications to send to the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Bursary Levels

Which Countries can Apply?

Botswana, Eswatini, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Closing Date

14 March 2024
Contact Details

195 Lambton Quay Private Bag 18 901 Wellington 6160, New Zealand

Application Address

A PACE Career Centre Product. © All rights reserved | Developed by Netgen (Pty) Ltd. Disclaimer: Please see disclaimer