Commonwealth Bursaries


Department of International Affairs (DFID)

UK Department for International Development (DFID) offers Commonwealth Scholarships for developing countries’ students to pursue Master’s, PhD and split-site (PhD) degree program at UK Universities. Approximately 300 scholarships are awarded each year. Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and PhD study in the UK are offered for citizens of developing countries. These scholarships are funded by the UK, Department of International Development (DFID). You can apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship for the following levels of study: Master’s (one-year courses only). PhD.
Who Can Apply

Academic merit of the candidate. Quality of the proposal. Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country.

Bursary Levels

Which Countries can Apply?

Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia
Closing Date

15 November 2018
Contact Details
Application Address