Australia Awards Scholarships


Australian Government

The Australia Awards are prestigious international scholarships and fellowships funded by the Australian Government that aim to contribute to the long term development needs of Australia’s partner countries, in line with bilateral and regional agreements. Course Level: Scholarships are available to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions. Study programs must relate to applicants country’s priority areas for development. These are listed on the participating country profiles.
Bursary Fields

Agriculture, Building Science & Construction , Education, Engineering, Finance, International, Nursing
Who Can Apply

You must be a citizen of the African country eligible to apply for this award. At least 25 and not more than 50 years of age at the date of your application. At least three (3) years' post-graduation work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to proposed field of study and to employment organisation type. Possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognised Institution of at least 3 years in length or a BTech (with at least a C level pass). Must not have a criminal conviction or be facing legal action with respect to allegations of serious criminal activity. Must not have citizenship or permanent residence status in Australia or New Zealand. Must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to South Africa upon completion of the award. Where possible, candidates should be willing to commit to return to place of employment following completion of the award. Applications from women and persons with disability are encouraged by the Australian Government. Mechanisms are in place to support the participation of applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.

Bursary Levels

Postgraduate , Undergraduate
Which Countries can Apply?

Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

The Awards are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training. The following benefits generally apply: -Full tuition fees -Return air travel -Establishment allowance -Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE) - is a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by the department.
Closing Date

15 December 2023
Contact Details
Application Address

A PACE Career Centre Product. © All rights reserved | Developed by Netgen (Pty) Ltd. Disclaimer: Please see disclaimer